South African Rand (ZAR)

The South African Rand (ZAR) is the official currency of South Africa, a country located at the southern tip of the African continent.

The currency is managed by the South African Reserve Bank (SARB), which is responsible for issuing and managing the country’s currency supply.

The currency code of South African Rand is ZAR, and the commonly used symbol is "R".

History of the South African Rand

The South African rand was introduced on 14 February 1961, replacing the South African pound at an exchange rate of 2 rand to 1 pound.

The introduction of the rand coincided with the establishment of the Republic of South Africa and marked the end of British colonial rule.

The name "Rand" comes from the Witwatersrand region of South Africa, which is famous for its rich gold mines and has played an important role in the country's economic development.

Denominations and Breakdowns


South African Rand is divided into 100 smaller units called cents.

Coins are available in denominations of 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents, as well as 1, 2 and 5 rand coins.

Notes are available in denominations of R10, R20, R50, R100 and R200.

The graphics on South African Rand coins and banknotes often depict local wildlife, cultural symbols and important historical figures and events, reflecting the country's rich heritage and natural environment.

Exchange rate and economy

The South African Rand exchange rate may fluctuate based on a variety of factors, such as the performance of the country's economy, inflation, and the supply and demand for the currency in international markets.

To find current exchange rates between South African Rand and other currencies, you can consult a financial source or use a currency conversion tool.

The South African economy is the second largest economy in Africa and is considered an upper-middle-income economy by the World Bank.

The country’s economy is diversified, with various sectors making significant contributions, including mining, agriculture, manufacturing and services.

South Africa is also rich in natural resources, especially gold, platinum and diamonds, which play a vital role in its exports.


The South African Rand is the official currency of South Africa and is administered by the South African Reserve Bank. It was introduced in 1961, replacing the South African pound.

Currency is broken down into 100 cents, with coins and banknotes issued in various denominations.

South Africa’s economy is diversified and resource-rich, with mining, agriculture, manufacturing and service industries contributing significantly.

If you want to learn more foreign exchange trading knowledge, please click: Trading Education.

Related Posts