Swedish Krona (SEK)

Swedish Krona (SEK) is the official currency of the Nordic country of Sweden.

The currency code of Swedish Krona is SEK, and the commonly used symbol is "kr".

Sveriges Riksbank The Riksbank is responsible for issuing and managing the country’s money supply, as well as formulating and implementing monetary policy.

History of the Swedish Krona

The Swedish Krona was introduced on May 27, 1873, when Sweden joined the Scandinavian Monetary Union along with Denmark and Norway.

The Union was formed to promote trade and commerce between the Scandinavian countries and to establish a common gold standard.

The alliance lasted until 1914, when it was disbanded due to the outbreak of World War I. But Sweden continues to use the krona as its currency.

Denominations and Breakdowns

The Swedish Krona is divided into 100 smaller units called öre.

However, the öre coin was discontinued in 2010 due to low purchasing power and increased production costs.

Therefore, all transactions in Sweden are now rounded to the nearest kronor.

Coins are available in denominations of 1, 2, 5 and 10 crowns.

Banknotes are available in denominations of 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 kronor.

The graphics on Swedish krona coins and banknotes often depict famous historical figures, cultural symbols and landmarks, reflecting the country's rich history and heritage.

Exchange rate and economy

The Swedish Krona is a floating currency, which means its exchange rate against other currencies is determined by market forces.

Factors such as inflation, interest rates, and economic growth all affect the value of the krona in the foreign exchange market.

Sweden is one of the most competitive and prosperous economies in the world, characterized by its strong industrial and service sectors, high levels of innovation and strong welfare system.

The country has a diversified export-oriented economy, with major industries including telecommunications, automobiles, pharmaceuticals, and forestry products.


The Swedish krona is the official currency of Sweden and is administered by the country's central bank, Riksbank.

The krona was introduced in 1873 as part of the Scandinavian Monetary Union and has been used ever since.

The currency is subdivided into 100 öres, although öre coins are no longer in circulation.

Coins and banknotes are issued in a variety of denominations and their designs reflect Swedish history and culture.

The Swedish krona is a floating currency and the exchange rate is determined by market forces.

The Swedish economy is competitive and prosperous, with a diversified export-oriented industry and services sector.

If you want to learn more foreign exchange trading knowledge, please click: Trading Education.

Related Posts