The currency of Jordan. Currency code (JOD)

The dinar is the currency of Jordan and the West Bank, where it circulates along with the Israeli new shekel. Click here for more information.

Origins and history

The dinar started circulating in Jordan in 1949; the Palestinian pound was the currency used. The dinar is subdivided into 100 piastres or 1000 files.

In 1964 the Central Bank of Jordan was established, and the first series of banknotes were issued in denominations of 0.5, 1, 5, and 10 dinars, all of which had the image of King Hussein printed on them.

Until 1992, denominations in fils, qirsh, dirhams, and dinars were written in Arabic, and only fils and diners were in English. Since 1992, fils and dirhams denominations are no longer used.

Current Jordanian dinar coins and banknotes

Coins in current circulation are 1, 2.5, 5 and 10 piastres, and 0.25, 0.5 and 1 dinar.

Regarding banknotes, denominations of 1, 5, 10, 20, and 50 dinars are used.