The currency of Bahrain. Currency code (BHD)

The Dinar (in Arabic: دينار) is Bahrain's legal tender. It is divided into 1,000 fils, and its ISO 4217 code is BHD. The word "dinar" derives from the Latin term "denarius." In 1965 the dinar was introduced to replace the Gulf rupee with an exchange rate of 10 rupees dinar.

In 1965 the first coins were minted in 1, 5, 10, 25, 50, and 100 fils. In 1992 a new series of coins were minted, removing the one fils denomination and adding the 500 fils denomination. There are also two versions of this series, one before 2001 in which the country's official name is 'State of Bahrain,' and another later in which the official name is 'Kingdom of Bahrain.'

Bahraini Dinar banknotes and coins in use

Currently, ½, 1, 5, 10, 20 dinar bills are in circulation.

As for coins, there are 5, 10, 25, 50, 100, 500 fils.